Really??

Okay, now I have sunk to a new insane low point. I have finished knitting my first double-knitting project, my checkerboard. Now for the most ridiculous part of it. I don’t like to play checkers. It did not occur to me how silly it is that I actually knit something I really do not like to do. I have a long history of this. If you only knew how many doilies I have crocheted, wash cloths I have knit and sweaters I have made. Practically none of which I have used myself. I say practically, because I must admit to have using a wash cloth or two, and maybe one or two doilies. But in comparison to the quantity I have made and the degree to which I really don’t like them myself, I have to ask myself why do I make them??? To be honest, I don’t even know why. If anyone out there has any suggestions as to why, I am very curious, please let me know!!!! All right, sorry for my momentary, slip into insanity. I just had to share this. It hit me when I showed my niece my checkerboard, and I blurted out that I do not even like to play checkers. Maybe there is safety in knitting things I do not enjoy to begin with, in case I fail, then I did not put too much of myself into it and won’t be too heart broken. Who knows, at least I finished it.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by marissafh on September 10, 2012 - 3:02 PM

    LOL ! yeah, I made all these scarves, hats, doilies etc and I don’t use them myself. I give them all away. It’s only recently that I made a scarf/cowl for myself. For me, it’s all about playing with the yarn, trying out new stitches and patterns that keeps me going. And I would like to try out that checkerboard pattern, but don’t know the first thing about double-knitting!

    • #2 by Amy on September 10, 2012 - 4:14 PM

      That’s exactly why I knit, trying out new things, stitches and patterns, I love learning new stuff. If you are interested in the pattern, I found it in Weekend Knitting by Melanie Falick. I really like the book, it has other interesting patterns too.

  2. #3 by coricutecore on September 10, 2012 - 7:22 PM

    How ironic! At least it makes for a funny story :p
    And you did a good job knitting it up!

  3. #4 by Amy on September 10, 2012 - 10:32 PM

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

