Something new…..to me

Just when I think I’m getting good at knitting, I learn a simple technique that humbles me and makes me excited to lean more. Last night I finished the fingerless glove I was working on. The pattern called for a sewn bind off. The pattern even shared a great quote that made it so simple. Because I bought the pattern and I’m not sure about copyright laws, I have looked for an example. I found a great example but I am partial to how it was written in the pattern I finished. I love patterns that stretch me, which is funny because this is a stretchier bind-off for stockinette or pattern stitch. There are better cast offs for ribbing. I just love the simplicity of the sewn cast off. In the past I have avoided this because it reminds me of Kitchener bind off, which I do use quite a bit but it does require me to be able to concentrate which in a house full of kids isn’t so convenient.
Here is a link to a tutorial on how to use Elizabeth Zimmerman’s sewn bind off…..
http://gettingpurlywithit.com/blog/zimmermans-sewn-bind

The pattern I am using, is one I have shared a few times now….
http://www.craftsy.com/supplies/sunshadow-tam-and-gloves-kit/5944?_ct=iuqhsx-kdyluhiqb-huikbj-ixef&_ctp=5944

and here is my finished edge on my fingerless glove….

2015/01/img_1927.jpg

2015/01/img_1926.jpg

2015/01/img_1928.jpg

2015/01/img_1929.jpg

, , ,

  1. #1 by polwygle on January 9, 2015 - 2:04 PM

    Looks great! And I love learning new-to-me tricks, too.

    • #2 by Amy on January 9, 2015 - 2:19 PM

      It is really easy and I love the finished look….for flat knitting (like dishcloths) it looks just like the long-tail cast on edge.

Leave a Reply

