Death

We traveled to Detroit to try to see my husbands father one last time.  We didn’t make it in time.  He died just about 2 hours before we arrived at the hospital.   We knew he was dying but it still is a shock when the news arrives.  I am so thankful to have knitting to distract me just enough so that the prayers can flow as the rows go by, making the item more special than I ever thought it would be.   Having a tangible reminder of the prayers lifted up on behalf of the family feels very special.  We will be busy in the coming days and I know I have a project for so many of the difficult moments ahead.  Simple projects to keep my hands busy as decisions are made and the funeral is planned.   Complex patterns for when I need to escape the stress.  Last but not least the gifts I will work on for family coming to town.  Knitting is very therapeutic!

The complex project–socks for my husband.





The simple project–a small baby blanket.



The gift–yarn for baby hat and mittens for my twin nieces.



, , ,

  1. #1 by atangledyarn84 on February 24, 2015 - 4:28 PM

    So sorry for your loss!

    • #2 by Amy on February 24, 2015 - 4:29 PM

      Thank you.

  2. #3 by djdfr on February 25, 2015 - 1:07 PM

    My thoughts are with you.

    • #4 by Amy on February 25, 2015 - 2:43 PM

      Thank you.

  3. #5 by Debra S. Walling on April 14, 2015 - 10:30 PM

    Sending healing thoughts and prayers as you and your family journey through grief; deepest sympathy for your loss.

    • #6 by Amy on April 14, 2015 - 10:33 PM

      Thank you! It has been a difficult spring.

Leave a Reply

