Wooly summer

So I am making a pair of wool socks, an early birthday gift, for my dad.  I have already made wool socks for my brother, sister and mother.  My dads birthday falls in July and I know that I never think of wool socks in the summer, so I checked it out.  I googled it. Yup, I googled “wool socks in summer” or something like that.  Right away expensive wool socks pop up, exhorting the superiority of wool verses cotton socks.  Because the wool wicks away moisture, runners or athletes feet remain comfortable.  I think wool socks will become a regular gift from me.  Of course for the summer months I am going to stick with smaller needles and finer yarn so the socks will be thinner socks.

My first summer dress socks for my dad

  

The pattern I am using,

Hedge row socks

, , , ,

  1. #1 by hubby on March 27, 2015 - 6:33 PM

    You made a pair for your hubby, too!

    • #2 by Amy on March 27, 2015 - 6:35 PM

      Yes I did, just not for your birthday! I don’t need an excuse to make you socks 😊

  2. #3 by Variegated Stacks on April 23, 2015 - 11:32 PM

    These are so beautiful. I tried Googling wool summer socks and didn’t find the pattern. Is it listed in Ravelry? Didn’t find it in the pattern database either.

    • #4 by Amy on April 24, 2015 - 1:59 AM

      The pattern is actually called hedge row. I probably should have posted that. Here is the link to ravelry,
      http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hedgerow-socks-2

      • #5 by Variegated Stacks on April 24, 2015 - 2:02 AM

        thanks…I discovered it after I made the comment. I liked your colorway choice. Simply stunning.

      • #6 by Amy on April 24, 2015 - 10:04 AM

        Thank you! Deborah Norville sock yarn, an inexpensive wool blend…I’ve made many pairs out of this yarn and like it.

Leave a Reply

